The biggest driver of the new social features involves having friends, so naturally we want you to feel comfortable with the process of sending friend requests and reviewing and approving the requests that your friends send you.
Sending a Friend Request
To add a friend you can simply navigate to their profile by having them share their URL with you, or if you know their username you can just add it to the end of a fixed URL, like the below:
The username for this account is bookfusionreader but you can swap that out for any other username to see someone's profile. If you navigate to this profile, you'll see something like the below, and there's an "Add Friend" button to click that will send it a friend request. During the course of this beta, please feel free to add this account as a friend to make sure you have at least one person you can test all the social features with; however, everyone is encouraged to share their profiles with other beta testers in our Discord server, so feel free to make new friends while testing. :)
Once you click the button to send a friend request you'll see the button change to say "Cancel Friend Request" instead, that way you can undo it if you accidentally click the button on accident when viewing someone's profile.
Reviewing Received Friend Requests
After you've sent the request, that person will get an email that looks like the below, giving them the option to accept the request or ignore if. If they ignore the request, you won't be notified. This is also how you will be notified of incoming friend requests that others send you.
While logged into BookFusion they'll also get a notification which can be viewed by clicking the View Notifications icon in the top right corner. The same options to Accept or Ignore will be visible here if you haven't already actioned the request from the email you received.
Once the request has been accepted, they'll now be able to see your actual profile picture and any books you've made public, so it'll look more like the below. From here you can also click the "Remove Friend" button that's visible at the bottom left if you'd ever like to stop being friends with another user.